Weight Watchers Mexi Pizza

I HAVE to share this recipe with you today due to popular Instagram demand.  It looked THAT good.

Mexi Pizza

I was perusing through Pinterest (surprise, surprise) a few days ago and came across a  recipe for a Weight Watchers Mexican Pizza.  The recipe was quick, easy and most every ingredient was already a staple in my house.  Because I like to amp up flavor and mix things up a bit I didn’t exactly follow the recipe. (again…surprise, surprise)  But, I did follow the basic guidelines.

It was homemade pizza night in our house last night and this was the perfect fit to go with my family’s fully-loaded versions.

Ingredients:

4 Mama Lupes Low Carb tortillas (soft taco size)

non-fat cooking spray

1/2 red bell pepper diced

1/2 yellow onion diced

1 jalapeno diced

2-3 cloves garlic minced

1 can black beans drained and rinsed

1 tomato diced or 1 can diced tomatoes drained

1 1/2 cup shredded cheese (I used a Mexi three pepper blend)

chopped cilantro

light sour cream or non-fat plain Greek yogurt

Salsa

Pre-heat the oven to 350°.  Place tortillas on an ungreased baking sheet.  Spray lightly with cooking spray.  Bake about 3 minutes on each side until lightly browned and edges are crisp.

Meanwhile, in a large skillet, sprayed liberally with cooking spray, saute onions, peppers, jalapeno and garlic until tender.  Add black beans and tomatoes and cook until heated through.

When tortillas are done sprinkle with half of the cheese.  Spoon the bean mixture over the cheese.  Sprinkle with remaining cheese.  Bake about 4 minutes or until the cheese is melted and the tortillas are crisp.

Garnish with cilantro and top with sour cream (or Greek yogurt) and salsa.

The skinny: 1 serving is 1 tortilla pizza, Calories 343, Carbs 35 g, Fat 17 g, Protein 21 g

I changed this recipe by using the low carb tortillas in place of corn tortillas.  The low carb are about half the calories and hold up to the weight of the toppings.  I also added the bell pepper because I LOVE fajita style veggies on my Mexican food.  I added a half cup more cheese than the original recipe, but I think my tortillas were a little bigger than the traditional corn therefore, requiring a bit more coverage.

These were DE-LISH!!!  I, actually, ate TWO of them.  Don’t judge…  I was starving and had the extra calorie allowance and… they just tasted SOOOOO good!!!! 

I get SO excited when I find a recipe that doesn’t taste like I’ve deprived myself of anything.  This was a complete HOME RUN! 

I’ll be eating this for lunch today, but… will only be indulging in one.  🙂

I know some of you might participate in Meatless Mondays.  This would be a PERFECT meal for that.

The next time your family wants pizza night, you don’t have to cringe and wonder what YOU’LL be having.  You’ll have this one in your back pocket.

Enjoy!

 

Peace, love and pizza feasts!

One thought on “Weight Watchers Mexi Pizza

Leave a Reply

