The Importance of Doing the Math

Last week I “pinned” a recipe for a “skinny” version of peanut butter cookies.  It only had 4 ingredients and promised that each cookie was a mere 36 calories.  The cookies pictured were rather large ones. 

I deemed Sunday to be my free day, and I’m glad I did.  My sweet tooth was getting the best of me.  Thoughts of those cookies lurked in the back of my mind.  I thought what the heck and I made them.

The recipe called for 1 cup of peanut butter, 1 cup of honey, 1 egg and 1 teaspoon of baking soda.  Mix the peanut butter and honey well.  Then add the egg and the baking soda. The strangeness of it all intrigued.  I mixed it all up, dropped the spoonfuls onto the cookie sheet and baked for the recommended 10 minutes.

1-13-13 005 copy

They looked pretty good.  After they cooled I tried a warm one and was pleasantly surprised.  These REALLY tasted like peanut butter cookies and were HEALTHY.  …not to mention they were only supposed to be 36 calories.  What the heck… I popped a second one in my mouth.

I sat down at the computer as the final batch baked (it only made 20 cookies) and entered everything into my recipe calculator on www.myfitnesspal.com.  My eyes popped out of my head. 

In NO way shape or form were these beauties 36 calories a piece.  They were 172 whopping calories EACH!!!!!!!!  I about fell over.  I immediately pulled up the pin on Pinterest and made a comment letting the next unsuspecting pinner know that these were NOT the skinny cookies they promised to be.  I tried to go the website it originated from to see if maybe the original author used something different, but the original site was no longer available. (Hmmmm…. makes me scratch my head and wonder a bit.)

Now…although they’re not a low-fat or low-calorie cookie they ARE a healthful, high protein, sweet alternative to the traditional cookie loaded with butter, sugar and flour.  They fall greatly into the clean eating category.  Tucker really like them so I’m sure I’ll make them again.  Perhaps about half the size and I’ll be fully aware of the calorie punch they pack.

This little flub today is the perfect example of why we should all make sure and do the math ourselves on anything we make.  It’s easy to get sucked into recipes such as the cookie one today thinking that they’re a great treat all the while completely BLOWING our daily allotment out of the water.  I would recommend that you do the math yourself on the recipes that I give you.  The slightest little change in ingredients can make a big difference.

Fortunately, I didn’t completely blow my day.  On the other end of the spectrum I made a soup that I thought would be high in calories and it turned out to be extremely skinny!  SCORE!!!!

 

Peace, love and figure friendly figures!!!

One thought on “The Importance of Doing the Math

Leave a Reply

