Heuvos and Avocado

I took half the day off today.

Yay me!!!!

I get a couple of hours to myself and then Tucker and I have to head back to town to visit the dentist.  Ugh!  Not exactly a FUN afternoon with my boy, but it’s time with him and time off work and a little time to myself.  So, I won’t complain.

I like days like this when I get off work at noon and come home to a quiet house and empty kitchen that just begs me to make something interesting that the rest of the family might not like to eat.

Pinterest inspired me this afternoon.  I found a recipe for eggs over easy on top of a pita slathered with avocado.  Sounded pretty tasty, but it kind of sounded just a tad boring.  It needed a kick.

Last night I made a burrito bowl and had left over sauted shrimp.  I keep low carb tortillas on hand and always have avocados.  I’ve never bought pitas and figured they’d be higher in calories and carbs than my tortillas.

I whipped this baby up and was feasting my heart out.

1-15-13 002 copy

All you need is one tortilla warmed, 1/2 avocado smashed and smeared on said (low carb) tortilla, two eggs cooked over easy, or to your liking, a little cilantro and sauted seasoned shrimp, if you so desire. For the shrimp I simply seasoned with onion powder, garlic powder, salt, oregano and red pepper flakes and then sauted until done.

It’s no secret that I LOVE breakfast food any time of day, I LOVE Mexican food and I LOVE quick meals.  Lunch was done in FIVE minutes.  Did you get that… FIVE. MINUTES!!!!!

1-15-13 005 copy

This was SOOOO tasty.  Not to pat my own back, but this really looked and tasted like something I’d order from one of our local Mexican restaurants. 

Here’s the skinny: 409 calories, 15g carbs, 24g fat (GOOD avocado fat, remember) and 35g protein.

I’ll tell you what really makes me smile about this one.  I LOVE that sometimes the mingling of the simplest ingredients can create the most AMAZING flavors.  I think I just might have this for breakfast on Saturday…. if I can wait that long.

 

 

Peace, love and simple pleasures!!

One thought on “Heuvos and Avocado

Leave a Reply

