Beautiful

beautiful

I found this several weeks ago and haven’t been able to stop thinking about it.  It spoke to me when I saw it.  I decided this would become MY motto for the new year.

I’ve always been an advocate for being YOURSELF and no one else, but after having a daughter this motto takes on a whole new meaning. I have a completely different perspective on individuality, beauty, self-esteem and self-worth.

Our society makes me sad sometimes.  We put SO MUCH emphasis on looking like Barbie…  tall, rail thin, ample bosom, perfectly round back side, bronzed skin, lush locks, doe eyes, plump lips, flat stomach,toned muscles and on and on and on and on.  What woman can realistically live up to all these measures?  Not to mention why on earth would we want to look ALIKE????

Yes, I have been changing the way I look in the last year to become HEALTHY which in turn changes my shape, but my physique is FAR from perfect.  I don’t want to look like anyone but ME.  I certainly don’t want to look like Barbie.  I am embracing all of my imperfections, cellulite, pimples, wrinkles, crooked mouth, funky twisted toes, jiggly areas, anti-calf muscles, frizzy hair, bumpy nose, “saggy parts”, moles and all.  I am embracing ALL of this because it’s perfection in God’s eyes.  It’s the perfection He chose for ME.  He WANTED me this way and who am I to question that.

I want to teach my daughter that HER beautiful is A-MAZING.  HER beautiful isn’t like anyone else’s beautiful.  HER beautiful is crazy cowlicks, a funny birthmark on her leg, chunky little thighs, a funny little laugh and big brown eyes.  HER beautiful is still evolving as she grows and changes and becomes the person God meant her to be.  HER beautiful can’t be captured by anyone else.  HER beautiful will make her stand out from those around her and will make her remembered by all those who love her.

YOUR beautiful is yours and no one else’s.  So long as you’re not destroying the gift God gave you YOUR beautiful will shine through the smile on your face and twinkle in your eyes. 

The most important thing to remember is that YOUR beautiful is a reflection of God’s beauty and THAT beauty is certainly something to be reckoned with.

So, I dare you…  Stand up straight, be proud of all those things that you “think” are wrong and…

BE YOUR OWN KIND OF BEAUTIFUL!!!!!

 

 

Peace, love and inner sunshine!!!!

2 thoughts on “Beautiful

  1. Pingback: True Beauty « Prayers and Promises

  2. Wow!!! I love this Post!! I have been working hard this new year trying to become healthier and reading this just gave me So much encouragement!! I agree with you on everyone want’s to be perfect and look like someone else but like you said God made us different for a reason!!! I just found your blog but look forward to reading it!!!

    Erin
    Check out my blog at: http://diariesfromthedirtroad.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

