Broccoli Love

I will be the first to admit that ever since the dawn of my time I HATED broccoli.  I didn’t just hate it, I DESPISED it!  I couldn’t STAND it.  But…my parents LOVED it.  Every summer, inevitably, it would show up on our table in salads at almost EVERY meal.  There was no getting away from it.  I would choke it down.  I probably gagged a few times, complained often and whined EVERY single time.  I did every possible thing I could to get out of eating that green stuff.

I’m a texture person, so the funky little tree tops just didn’t do anything for me.  …and you have to admit that it does have a strong flavor.  Yes, I was a finicky veggie kid.

So…before my trip to Florida I was discussing new veggies to try with my co-workers.  Broccoli and cauliflower came up.  I WANTED to like broccoli.  I WANTED to give cauliflower a chance.  But how?  How do I make these veggies so that I will actually love them.

One of the girls suggested roasting them.

Roasting?  Really?  Well… I love roasted asparagus.

I went home that night with a mission.  One head of broccoli, one head of cauliflower, four tablespoons olive oil, three cloves of garlic minced, kosher salt and a sprinkling of parmesan cheese.  Mix everything together except the parmesan and roast at 350° for about 20 minutes or until the veggies start to slightly brown.  At this point sprinkle lightly with parmesan cheese and put back in the oven for five more minutes.

My friends, I, literally, died and went to fiber HEAVEN!!!!  I am completely ADDICTED to this now.  I can’t get enough.  There is NO describing what roasting these veggies does to the flavor.  It’s outstanding, kind of nutty, pretty much perfect.  Let’s just say that Grady and I had to MAKE ourselves save enough for lunch leftovers the next day.

So, while venturing through Pinterest one day I found a new variation on my new best friends.  Roasted broccoli and shrimp.  REALLY?  I went straight home and made it.  This time, it’s only one head of broccoli and two serving of raw peeled shrimp.  Season the broccoli as before (cut the olive oil back to two tablespoons) and start roasting.  While the broccoli is getting happy in the oven, peel and clean the shrimp.  Lightly coat with 1 teaspoon of olive oil and salt slightly.  After 10 minutes of roasting the broccoli add the shrimp to the pan.  Continue in the oven until the shrimp is done and the broccoli is browned.  Top with parmesan cheese and serve over brown rice if desired.

IMG_20130223_121811 copy

I will admit that last weekend I ate the entire head of broccoli and two servings of shrimp.  I couldn’t stop.  The best part… totally guilt free.  (I didn’t eat it with the rice this time.)

Here’s the skinny on roasted broccoli and shrimp (1 whole head and two servings of shrimp): 482 calories, 20 grams carbs, 28 grams fat, and 39 grams protein.  Don’t be scared of the carbs and fat.  Remember, it’s GOOD veggie and FIBER carbs and healthy fat from the olive oil.  All things your body needs and loves.  This is a great meal for two or great as leftovers the next day.  Adding a half cup of brown rice to half of this recipe makes a perfectly complete treat.

Now, excuse me while I dig through the snow so I can get to the store for some more broccoli.

Peace, love and fiber FRENZY!!!!

Leave a Reply

