The Fastest Cake in the West

Well, I’m only two days late on when I promised I’d post this recipe to my family and friends.  Better late than never, right.

Last week my co-worker shared a cake recipe with us that she discovered in one of her MIL’s old church cookbooks.  I swear those cookbooks are GOLD MINES for the BEST recipes.  She was laughing about the name of the cake, The Fastest Cake in the West, and how simple it was to make.  Then she told us about it’s killer secret ingredient.

Canned pie filling.

Really.  I’m not joking.  The recipe calls for a can of your favorite pie filling.  ANY ONE.  You pick.  Peach.  Apple.  Blueberry.  Blackberry.  Cherry.  Whatever your heart desires you can choose.

After gushing over this cake she finally brought some for us to try.  She chose peach pie filling.  Folks, I died.  I, literally, died and went to CAKE HEAVEN!!!!!  Thank goodness she brought tiny little pieces and only a few because I could have eaten the entire pan had she brought more.

I begged her to bring the recipe in.  She HAD to share it.  I was making a special dinner for Grady’s step-mom this past weekend and I knew she’d LOVE it!  It was right up her alley.

DSC_0514 copy

I made the cake.  We ate the cake.  And then we ate some MORE of the cake.

DSC_0522 copy

Grady ate cake for breakfast the next day.  I ate some for a pre-lunch snack after church that afternoon.  We ate cake last night for dessert.  This cake has GOT to get out of my house.  It’s a drug, I’m telling you.  It’s a force that can’t be reckoned with.  I have NO control over it’s powers.  It’s evil, pure evil, but it’s absolute HEAVEN!!

Want to know what’s in it?  Thought I’d never share, huh?  Well, I won’t make you wait any longer.

The Fastest Cake in the West

2 c. flour

1½ c. sugar

1½ tsp. soda

½ tsp. salt

1 tsp. cinnamon

2 eggs, beaten

3/4 c. cooking oil

1 c. nuts

1 can pie filling (apple, cherry, blueberry, blackberry, peach, etc.)

Mix in pan or bowl.  You don’t need a mixer and you don’t need to grease and flour the pan.  Bake at 350° for 30 minutes for a sheet cake or 45 minutes or until done for 9 x 13 pan.  Frosting: Mix 8 oz. cream cheese, 1 stick butter, 1 lb. powdered sugar, 1 tsp. vanilla and a dash of milk until smooth and creamy.

That’s it.  Seriously.  That’s all you have to do.  It takes longer to make the frosting than it does to make the cake.  I used apple pie filling and it was every bit as good as the peach.  I’d love to try blackberry next because I can’t help but think that it’d give it a completely different dynamic.  I do have to admit that since I was using my bundt pan I DID lightly grease my pan so that it was guaranteed to come out perfectly.

This cake isn’t just The Fastest Cake in the West, it’s The BEST Cake in the West!!!!

The hardest part of making this beauty is deciding which pie filling to use.

 

 

Peace, love and devilish delights!!!

Leave a Reply

