Granola Bars – Homemade

My kids are ALWAYS asking for a snack.  I don’t mind them snacking, but I want to make sure it’s something that’s relatively healthy, wholesome and not full of “crud”.  If I can make it homemade and KNOW what’s in it then I’d rather go that route.

A few weeks ago Pioneer Woman made homemade granola bars on her show and I was intrigued.  This week it’s our turn to take the post-game snack for soccer, so I thought it’d be a perfect time to try this recipe out.  Tucker LOVES granola bars, so I knew this should be a safe one to try.

DSC_0002 copy

I’ll confess that while this recipe is EXTREMELY easy to put together it’s a little time consuming.  Don’t let it discourage you from giving these a try.  I started out being skeptical because the “glue” of these bars contains honey and molasses.  I’m not a big honey fan and too much molasses can be very overwhelming.  Trying the mixture in it’s raw state, before it’d been baked, worried me.  It really didn’t taste all that great and the smell of the honey baking was very strong.

BUT…after they baked and I cut them up and nibbled on the little broken morsels I was pleasantly surprised.  These were REALLY good!  I was really excited that I had left enough calories in my daily allowance last night for one of the finished versions, complete with being dipped in chocolate.  SOOOOO good!!!  This was husband and kid approved, big time!!!!

DSC_0004 copy

This is a very basic version of granola.  You could easily add dried fruit or more nuts to give it a new twist.

I will say this, P-dub’s recipe says that a serving is 1/16 of the recipe which is INSANE!!!!  I cut these into 30 bars, which were certainly of ample size.  If you followed her recipe and made this into 16 servings ONE bar would be a whopping 380 calories!!!!  That’s just too much in my opinion, even for extremely active kids.

When you cut the recipe into 30 portions this is the breakdown…. 190 calories, 28g carbs, 8g fat, 4g protein, 23mg sodium, 11g sugars.  This is much more reasonable.

When it’s all said and done, these are a DEFINITE make again.  I would love to keep these on hand in my fridge for my kids to munch on.

Click on the link above for the recipe.

Peace, love and pure goodness!!

One thought on “Granola Bars – Homemade

  1. My kids eat so many granola bars, I’ve often thought of making them at home. Maybe this will inspire me. Haven’t looked at the recipe yet, but probably you could substitute brown rice syrup for some of the honey, which might lower the sugar/calorie content. Or sorghum syrup, though I’ve never compared it to honey. If you’ve recently inherited a fortune, there’s always agave syrup. Anyway, thanks!

Leave a Reply

