Little Miss Big Britches

DSC_0114 copy

Oh, this girl is one of a kind.

Yesterday she and I had the whole day together, just the two of us.  After naptime we went outside and I carried my camera with me as I do on many occasions.  She looked at it and said, “Mommy, takie my picture!!”  We brushed her tangled hair and I started snapping away.

As I sit here trying to decide how to describe our little Monkey at this stage in her life my mind is boggled with thoughts.  It’s overwhelming to try to describe her.

Every day she makes us laugh with a new word, phrase or expression.  She’s going through so many stages that it’s so hard to keep up with her ever changing world of likes, dislikes and quirks.

DSC_0104 copy

Her favorite thing to say right now when she feels duped or let down:  “Ahhhhh. maaannnn.”

Her favorite thing to eat: “Cows.”  AKA Moo Tubes/yogurt tubes.  She calls them “cows” because there’s a cow on the package.  Logical…

Her favorite thing to drink: Apple juice

Her favorite color: Pink.  She’s learning her colors which is funny because everything right now is either pink or “lello” (yellow).

DSC_0115 copy

Her favorite thing to wear: “Wheep whops” (flip flops)

DSC_0107 copy

We’re working on potty training right now.  Potty training is EXHAUSTING.  I thought she’d be easier than Tucker, but I’m afraid she’s not.  She gets the concept.  She KNOWS what she’s supposed to do, she just doesn’t really care.  But…at 2 1/2 I think it’s time to get serious about it.  After failed bribery, big girl/baby girl comparisons and a few big pants tries I wasn’t sure anything was going to work.  Then, this weekend, I decided to resort to what worked for Tucker… a “potty chart”.  For every time he went potty on the big potty he got a sticker.  Lo and behold, it’s WORKING for Miss Monkey.  Yesterday alone, she got to put FIVE stickers on her chart.  It’s a start.

We had another BIG GIRL moment this weekend.

DSC_0121 copy

She got to have her toenails painted for the very first time!!  I was amazed at how quietly she sat while I coated them with the sparkly pink polish.

DSC_0101 copy

She continues to be insanely independent, with her favorite thing to say being, “MY TURN!” when she insists on “doing it HERSELF”.  She doesn’t miss an opportunity to give Tucker hell, but in the next minute loving all over him.  She’s become a daddy’s girl which melts a big cowboy’s heart every time.  She loves to help Mommy with every possible chore, from unloading the dishwasher, folding clothes, making cookies, watering flowers or doing laundry.

I love this girl beyond anything I ever thought imaginable.  I love her spunk.  I love her spirit.  I love her heart.

 

 

Peace, love and funny phases!!!

One thought on “Little Miss Big Britches

Leave a Reply

