Extremes

Nine inches.

That’s how much rain DUMPED on us in five days.  Yes, NINE inches my friends.  SIX of those inches were on Monday, alone!!!

We’re slightly drowning here, folks.  Prune-ish, if I dare say.

DSC_0041 copy

DSC_0053 copy

DSC_0050 copy

DSC_0054 copy

It’s not good news for the corn and beans, but it’s wonderful news for the cracks in the pastures and the ponds that looked like little mud puddles last week.

Five days stuck inside was beginning to wear on the spirits in this house.  My energetic seven-year-old desperately wanted OUT.  He just wanted to go fishing.  As much as I welcomed the rain, I longed for the sun to shine on my face.  I wanted to sit on my deck and watch my hummingbirds.  I just needed OUTSIDE.

DSC_0044 copy

While we were able to leave the confines of these walls yesterday and investigate the water situation, he’ll have to wait for fishing another day.  It’s literally, breaking his heart.  Although… we did see a few carp swirling around in the flood waters.  It was bittersweet for the kiddo because he didn’t understand why he couldn’t throw his line into the field.

DSC_0039 copy

DSC_0040 copy

We haven’t seen flood waters like this in about three years.  I don’t know that I’ve seen flood waters like this in JULY in the ten years I’ve been here.  This is NOT typical.  Typical for March, yes, July… NO.

The water isn’t expected to crest until later today.  Then… more rain for the weekend.

I feel like a broken record, but our weather has been so a-typical for the past 6 months.  I wonder what’s in store for the coming winter months… blizzards or tropics???  WHO KNOWS!!

Leave a Reply

