Black Bean and Corn Salad

I have a new recipe to share with you!!!!!

Can you believe it? It’s been ages, I know. DSC_0004 copyI think I told you about an OUT OF THIS WORLD salad that my sister-in-law, Jenna, brought to Tucker’s birthday party. It was a HUGE hit and everyone wanted the recipe.  She, graciously, shared it with me the next Monday. I kept thinking I needed a special occasion to make it for.  You know, a BBQ or pot luck dinner… something other than just my family. Then, Thursday I decided that since Grady has been working his hiney off and since I have had plenty of time at home and since I was DYING to have it again I didn’t need a BBQ or pot luck dinner as an excuse to make it. I was going to make it JUST BECAUSE.

I’m so glad I did.

DSC_0007 copyBlack Bean and Corn Salad

2 can sweet corn, drained

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed

1/2 green bell pepper, diced

1/2 red bell pepper, diced

1/2 red onion, diced

1/2 cup mayonnaise (light or regular)

2 cups shredded monterrey jack cheese

Chili Cheese Fritos (amount depends on your preference)

Mix first seven ingredients and chill until ready to serve. Before serving crunch Fritos and mix into salad. Serve cold.

The original recipe uses regular mayonnaise, the full amount of cheese and half a bag of Fritos. I lightened it up by using light mayonnaise, 1½ cups cheese and 3 oz. (measured) of Fritos. I think the flavor was still over the top without as many calories and fat.

Here’s the skinny on the lighter version per 1/2 cup serving.

Calories: 176, Carbs: 19 grams, Fat: 9 grams, Protein: 6 grams, Sodium: 466 mg, Sugar: 3 grams

Yields: 14, ½ cup servings

So… it’s not the BEST thing for you with higher carbs and fat grams, but it could certainly be an indulgence if you’ve been good and paired with a lean meat and zero guilt veggie. It’s GREAT paired with a grilled chicken breast!!!

I hope you enjoy this one as much as we do!!!

Peace, love and corn craze!!!

 

Leave a Reply

