Recharged

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhh…….

Yesterday I had the opportunity to join a magnificent group of ladies for a spiritual retreat at a local YMCA camp ground in the heart of our flint hills.  This was the beauty that we were blessed with all day.

I will admit that I was a bit nervous to go.  As much as I love stuff like that, sharing my personal thoughts and feelings in front of a group is WAY outside of my comfort zone, especially my spiritual thoughts.  I get VERY emotional about it.

I will fully admit that I was coming up with excuses of why I needed to stay home and do other things, but in the end I made myself go and was SO glad that I did.

DSC_0087 copyI knew most of the ladies there.  I’ve been attending church with them for 10 years.  I knew I was in a safe place and my thoughts and feelings were safe with them, as well.

There was so  much greatness that I took away from my day, but what stuck with me the most was this hymn, which we were encouraged to pray daily.

CHRIST BESIDE ME

Christ beside me, Christ before me,

Christ behind me, King of my heart.

Christ within me, Christ below me,

Christ above me – never to part.

Christ on my right hand, Christ on my left hand,

Christ all around me – shield in the strife.

Christ in my sleeping, Christ in my sitting,

Christ in my rising – light of my life.

It was such a comfort to bring into my heart the reminder that no matter where I am, where I go, what I do, God is there surrounding me with his love and protection.  He is there to guide me and teach me.  I only have to be open to his wisdom and love.

We also spent a great amount of time meditating.  Have you ever tried it?  I think it’s a very personal thing. 

I LOVE it!  I’ve suffered from anxiety attacks for years.  They don’t happen all the time.  I struggle with them when life if incredibly stressful and I’m feeling the weight of the world on my shoulders, like the last 4 months.  Having someone guide me through the breathing exercises, centering my mind and calming my nerves was exhilarating.  I can’t even begin to describe the calm that washed over my mind and heart.  I need to remember to allow myself to take the time to do this at least several times a week.  Allow myself to just BREATHE.

DSC_0085 copyI am so thankful for the day I was given, thankful for the ladies who hosted, thankful for those who shared so openly, thankful for the fellowship of sisters.

What an AWE-SOME day.

Peace, love and RENEWAL!!!!

Leave a Reply

