The Weekend

Grady is back in his (rodeo) saddle!!!  This past weekend was the first WRCA sanctioned rodeo he’s competed in since his accident.  While he had some pain in his knee he’s doing SO well!

Our guys didn’t get the ticket to Amarillo that they were hoping for, but they had a stellar rodeo.  They placed third overall.  In a few days we’ll find out if last weekend was our final try for the “Big One” this year.  We’re hopeful for one more chance, but will be okay if it turns out to not be in our cards this year.

Despite the third place results the weekend was a great time.

DSC_0134 copyIt was a beautiful weekend.  Our teammates had to endure some crazy weather before the beauty arrived.  The rest of the team was set to sleep in a camper and the nose of the horse trailer.  Grady and I were supposed to sleep in a tent.  After seeing the weather forecast for Friday night Grady and I decided that we didn’t feel like riding out the coming rain storm in a tent.  We opted to get a room at the local motel.  I’m so glad because the lightning and thunder at 2:30 in the morning were INSANE!!!  I sat straight up in bed.  I can only imagine what it would have been like in a tent.  …wet and LOUD.

Saturday morning we woke up to an amazingly beautiful day.  We went to the rodeo grounds and enjoyed watching the ranch horse competition.  After Adrian competed Grady and I decided to go venture around town.  We pulled into the local grocery store/liquor store and you’d never believe who we found.

grandparentsGrady said, “I think that’s your grandpa in the parking lot…”  Lo and behold he was right!  There were my grandparents and my cousin, Ellie and her husband, Levi!!!!  We got out, exchanged hugs and exclamations.  They were on their way to the family ranch in Oklahoma for the weekend.  We quickly made an impromptu lunch date in a neighboring town.

DSC_0111 copySun City, Kansas, doesn’t have much, but they do have Buster’s.  If you need a good burger and some great art you should put this place on your list.  GREAT burgers and even better onion rings!!!

DSC_0108 copyDSC_0110 copyIt’s not often you encounter a scene like this.  Cracks me up every time I see something like it.

As the afternoon progressed little did Grady know that this kiddo was on his way to see him.

DSC_0125 copyHe rode out with a friend and fellow competitor.  It was a great surprise for this daddy.

CadeThese two crack me up!  Their hearts were so happy, which made my heart happy.

Our adventure had a strange ending.  As the rodeo came to a close our teammate, Colt, found out that his vehicle had a bad alternator and wasn’t going anywhere.  He had to get home that night.  Since we were going in the same direction we offered to take him home if we could get in touch with my parents.  Well… we never made contact with the parents so we weren’t able to help him out, but…. the thought of sleeping in my own bed, in my own warm house and not having to unpack my things for the night and then repack only to UN-pack again was just more than I could take.  My stubborn side was kicking in.  I convinced Grady to drive home at 11:30 that night.  We got home around 2:30 in the morning and fell into our bed.  It was heaven.

Although this may have been our last WRCA rodeo, we have a month full of fun and relaxing rodeos to attend.  Here’s to the start of a great month!

Peace, love and sweet rides!!!

Leave a Reply

