A Thankful Heart

Sometimes, when life throws serious curve balls in your direction it’s hard to find the things to be thankful for.  It’s no secret that our family has had our fair share of struggles in the past six months.  But… I am trying hard to find the things in our lives that make us BLESSED, the things that we should hold dear and be thankful for.

I am thankful for this man.

DSC_0201 copyThere is no one else I’d rather take this journey through life with.  He puts up with my crazy moods, sets me straight when I’m unreasonable and loves me beyond measure.  He is my rock and best friend.

********************

I am thankful for this kiddo.

CadeHe may not be mine biologically, but he’s my “first” kid.  He has taught me love, patience, tolerance and above all forgiveness.  We’ve had our fair share of rocky moments, but he has been a riot and joy to watch grow up.  He’s turned into a young man that I’m proud to be “second” mom to.

*****************

Without a doubt, I am thankful for these two turkeys.

1-18-13 095 copyDSC_0115 copyI am amazed every day that God believes in me enough to raise these babies.  Their heart, spirit, sass, creativity, individuality and love overwhelm me daily.  My love for them is immeasurable and indescribable.

**************

I am thankful to call this place home.

DSC_0159 copyDSC_0215 copyFeet upThis is truly God’s country.  Grassland as far as the eye can see.  Wildflowers of all colors blanketing the prairie. Crickets and locusts singing their lullabies in the late summer.  Cattle calling for their calves.  Coyotes howling in the still of the night.  Peace.  Immense peace and the best place in the WORLD to just put your feet up.

****************

I am thankful for the newest addition to our family.

MacyWe adopted Miss Macy last weekend.  She was a stray taken in by a family in Wichita who didn’t have enough space for her to run.  When my friend shared her picture trying to help find her a home I fell in love with her face.  …much like I did when I found Jess, the weenie dog.  She’s fallen in love with the kids.  She naps with Tucker, sleeps at the foot of our bed and snuggles like a kid.  She and Jess have become instant best friends and play for HOURS.  We still hurt for the loss of our Harley, but Macy has stolen our hearts without a shadow of a doubt.

**************

I am thankful for our families.  We are blessed to have Grady’s within minutes from us and mine only an hour away.  They are always willing to help us with the kids or any little thing we may need.  Their selflessness doesn’t go unnoticed.  We love them immensely and are SO lucky to have them.

****************

I am thankful for the new job Grady will start on Monday.  A better income will help relieve the strain we’ve felt over the past six months.

****************

I am thankful for the children I work with every day.  I am certain they have taught me far more than I’ve taught them.  I am a better person, mother and friend because of what these kids show me daily.  There is no better feeling than walking into a building and being bombarded with hugs, stories and pure excitement at the mere presence of MY company.

*****************

I am thankful for my community of people who have been so supportive and kind through our hardships.  Small town, America, is where it’s at.

****************

I am thankful for Thanksgiving.  I LOVE this holiday.  It’s, by far, my favorite.  I love the opportunity to gather with family and feast on amazing food enjoying good company and lots of laughter.  THIS is what the holidays are all about.  Togetherness and giving THANKS!!!

Happy Thanksgiving to each and every one of you.  May your day be filled with blessings, reflections, good food and hearts full of joy.

Peace, love and unseen FORTUNES!!!!

Leave a Reply

