Andes Mint Fudge… *WARNING! ADDICTION ALERT!*

DSC_0020 copyOh, Pinterest, you are a wicked friend.  Just plain DEVILISH.  You have so many delicious recipes and ideas that I just can’t quit you.  I have to browse through your sections night after night pinning and pinning and pinning until my eyes cross and I force myself to log off.  This Christmas season has been especially tough for me.  You have shown me so many delectable treats that sing to my food loving SOUL.  Your temptations are beyond my control.  I have indulged in three of your splendidly scrumptious sweet treats and mastered several of your craft ideas.  (I refuse to complain about the crafts as they have become the most adorable Christmas gifts.)

I am most upset with you for revealing to me the recipe for Andes Mint Fudge.  You see, Andes Mints hold a very special place in my heart and eventually reside in a not so lovely place on my hips.  I simply can’t turn down these treasures wrapped in their shimmering green paper like tiny little Christmas gifts.  They are IR-resistable.  I have NO control over their power.  When I happened upon the recipe for a fudge of the same name on your site I was forced to investigate.  Upon investigation my intrigue grew and I was forced to try the recipe.  Yes, I was FORCED… by the forces of my chocolate and mint addiction.  I’m powerless, I tell you.

Friends, if you have any sort of weakness to mint and chocolate you may want to stop reading.  You may need to walk away from this post and never return because your life will change in ways you never thought imaginable if you proceed with reading and actually TRY this recipe.  It is EXACTLY like an Andes Mint.  EXACT-LY.   And NOTHING like the Andes Mint foe, the York Peppermint Patty.  I apologize to the York lovers of the world, but there is just no comparison.  Andes takes York EVERY single time.

I will just say that on more than four separate occasions, just last night, I found myself sneaking to the fridge for a little nibble.  Just a little one.

I couldn’t help it.

Because I can’t keep this to myself and because I couldn’t fathom living with the agony of knowing this food insanity and NOT sharing it, I MUST pass this goodness on to you.

Andes Mint Fudge

Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips, divided

1 14 oz. can sweetened condensed milk

1 1/2 cups white chocolate baking chips

2 tsp. peppermints extract

4 – 5 drops green food coloring

1 tsp shortening or vegetable oil

Line an 8×8 baking pan with foil and spray with non-stick spray and set aside.  In a small saucepan, over medium-low heat, melt 1 1/2 cups of chocolate chips with 3/4 cup sweetened condensed milk, stirring occasionally.  Spread the melted chocolate mixture into pan and chill for 5-10 minutes.  While that’s cooling melt the white baking chips and remaining sweetened condensed milk, stirring until completely smooth.  Remove from the heat and add the peppermint extract and food coloring. (Start with only 3 drops of the food coloring adding more if you’d prefer the color the more intensely green.)  Spread mint layer over chilled chocolate layer.  Chill for 5-10 minutes while you make the final layer.  Melt the remaining 1 cup of chocolate chips and shortening/oil in the microwave in 30 second intervals until smooth.  Spread over the chilled mint layer.  Top with mini chips or Andes baking chips, if desired.  Refrigerate at least 2 hours or until fudge is completely set.  Cut into small square.  Store in an airtight container.  Freezes well.

My Notes:

The original recipe only called for 1 teaspoon of the peppermint extract, but when I tasted it I still picked up hints of the white baking chip flavor.  I only wanted to taste the mint and chocolate.  I added an additional half teaspoon at a time to reach the intensity that I thought was best.  Two teaspoons is perfect.  It’s NOT an overwhelming mint flavor but definitely covers the white baking chip taste.

I also discovered that I think I’d like the whole thing to be a little thinner, as in not quite so thick (size wise).  This fudge is SO rich that any more than a smidge of a piece is almost too much in the sweetness/richness category.  I used a 9×9 baking dish and you can see from the picture above that mine turned out really thick.  If you have something a little larger you may try that.  I will admit that I was EXTREMELY tired and a little agitated when I was making this and I flubbed on the recipe a bit. (PMS may or may not have played a large part in this problem.)  Rather than thinking about what I was doing I immediately dumped the entire can of sweetened condensed milk in with my chocolate chips.  To remedy this to the right ratio I simply added another half cup of chocolate chips.  Sooooo… mine is just a touch thicker than what the original recipe would call for, but I would still make it in a larger pan.

There you have it.  I’ve placed all of this knowledge on your shoulders.  Do with it what you may.  I warn you, though, if you wander to the dark side of this mint wonderland you will not return the same person.  You may be slightly happier and little plumper.

‘TIS THE SEASON!!!!

Peace, love and mint mania!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

