Rock Crawlers

This has been the most draining five days.

Saturday: Monkey versus the stomach bug

Sunday: Birthday party preparation and celebration

Monday: Tucker versus the stomach bug, a violent match

Tuesday: Tucker recovers from the stomach bug and Monkey comes home from daycare with fever chills, a cough and nasty digestive issues.

Tuesday night: Monkey wakes up twice with more fever and a yucky tummy

Wednesday: Mommy and Monkey stay home

She woke up fever free this morning, but still with the yuck tummy.  I have no idea what the day will bring.  I’m keeping my fingers crossed that she continues to get better as the hours tick by.

My poor kids have never been this sick, especially not all at once with TWO different illnesses.  I’ve been knee-deep in vomit, bleach cleaning spray and hand soap.  I’m really praying that Grady and I can stay healthy and no one else ends up with the flu.  Do they make sanitizing bombs?  I think my house needs one.

In the midst of all this sickness insanity, on the ONE day we were ALL healthy, we had a fun little adventure in Papa Mike’s (Grady’s father) pasture.  Living in the middle of the Flint HIlls of Kansas means that the grasslands are lying on top of a HUGE bed of flint rock.  Rocks EVERYWHERE.  My FIL’s pasture has some interesting rock formations that attract this really crazy group of people we call the Rock Crawlers.

These guys don’t crawl on rocks the way you may think they do.

They like to crawl on rocks like this….

DSC_0192 copy VEHICULAR Rock Crawlers, my friends.

These guys are nuts.  I think they’re nuts for shelling out the insane amount of dough for the tires alone.  You’ll see what I mean.

Tucker got a big treat!!  Our local UPS man is one of the Crawlers and I think he has one of the better trucks.  This boy got the ride of a lifetime.

DSC_0194 copyDSC_0198 copyTuck’s shy smile says it all.  He’s NERVOUS and SO excited all at the same time.

DSC_0201 copy DSC_0203 copyHere they go.  That truck is going to drive UP and over that rock ledge.

For real.

DSC_0205 copyDSC_0209 copyYes, my heart skipped a few beats.  My BABY is in there!!!!

DSC_0212 copyDSC_0214 copyThese guys don’t just rev their engines and barrel up the rocks.  This whole process is very slow and methodical, hence the name “Crawlers”.

DSC_0215 copyJust like Monster Trucks the front and rear axles turn independently of each other.

DSC_0218 copyDSC_0225 copyTo me he looks… stuck.

DSC_0228 copyOf course not.  He made it.

DSC_0240 copy..and he made this little boy’s DAY!!!

Thanks, Brian!

DSC_0242 copyThis guy was trying a different spot.

He was having a really hard time getting the job done.

He finally gave up and Tucker’s new friend came in and showed him how to get it done.

DSC_0251 copyDSC_0253 copyDSC_0257 copyDSC_0260 copy…and that’s how you do it.

(Blows my mind.)

There were some really interesting looking trucks.

DSC_0276 copyThis dune buggy ran on propane rather than gas.

DSC_0281 copyDSC_0184 copyDSC_0185 copyDSC_0266 copyI was only there for about 45 minutes.  This went on and on and on and on for the whole afternoon.  Grady and the boys stayed for THREE more hours.  I actually had to call to tell them to come home and help get ready for the party.  Talk about a testosterone rush.  I’m just glad there is NO room in our budget for a hobby like this.

Peace, love and cool crawlers.

2 thoughts on “Rock Crawlers

  1. hahaha I saw you taking pictures! unfortunately we are one of the crawlers and make excursions to mike’s frequently!!! never that big of a turnout though lol! Totally enjoyed your blog and u are completely right a lot of our budget goes to the blue beast!

Leave a Reply

