Digging Out and Digging In

Yesterday was another day spent at home.

Snowed in.

It snowed ALL day Tuesday.

The wind BLEW all day Tuesday.

In general, it was a miserable day.  …in my opinion.

I shoveled the deck and a path to the house from the driveway for Grady late that afternoon.  By 9:00 that night you would have never known a shovel had been NEAR that snow.

It all ended in the middle of the night and we woke to this.

DSC_0015 copyThe drifts were at least nine inches deep in some places, if not more.

The gentle waves of snow were so peaceful yesterday morning.  I wanted so badly to load the kids up, drive around and take pictures.

But… I stepped out for about three minutes to snap the one above and the -15° windchill was more than I could handle.  My fingers were frozen!

Shoveling and picture snapping would have to wait until later.

Nap time came I bundled up to dig us out.  Again.

DSC_0082 COPYDSC_0040 COPYDSC_0048 COPYDSC_0045 COPY

DSC_0071 COPYThe sandbox toys looked so sad.

DSC_0057 COPYThese two were a riot in the snow.

DSC_0075 COPYBandit would dig, roll and then bury his face in the snow.  He LOVED it.

DSC_0067 COPYAnd then there was Macy.  She was eating random things on top of the snow…  Weirdo.

I ended up caving in on my baking ban.

I DIDN’T make cookies though.

DSC_0031 COPYI opted for banana nut bread.  Two GIANT loaves!

YUM!!!!

The house smelled SO good and I had a very happy husband when he came home from work.

I’ll share the recipe with you tomorrow.

The insane weather wasn’t the only downfall to our time at home.  Miss Monkey woke up Tuesday morning with an uncontrollable cough and by late morning was running a low-grade fever.  By that evening she looked like H-E-double hockey sticks.  Yesterday was more of the same.  Rosie cheeks, coughing and zero energy.

So, I am home once again today even though the kids are back at school.  We’ll be making a trip to the doctor to check out her cough to be on the safe side.

I am READY for SPRING with its warmth, budding life and restored health.

Peace, love and snow craze!!!!

P.S. Tell me if you can find the photo with the BIG typo!!!  LOL!

2 thoughts on “Digging Out and Digging In

Leave a Reply

