Banana Nut Bread

DSC_0031 COPYI know….  I told you I’d post this recipe yesterday.  I didn’t get it done.

I’m sorry.

It was a busy day.  I actually got to go back to work!!!!  Miss Monkey tested negative for the flu.  Thank the Lord!  She does have a slight ear infection and the cough is still insane, but she was feeling so much better by Thursday afternoon.  Friday morning it was back to daycare and back to school.  It was wonderful!

On to the food…

The banana bread was a HUGE hit.

It’s all gone.  (Except for the loaf I hid in the freezer.  Hehehehe!)  I think I might even make another one this weekend, without nuts.  I know, that’s just wrong, but do you know HOW MANY calories you save by eliminating the nuts?  It’s kind of ridiculous.

Okay, I’ve yammered on long enough.  Here you go.

Banana Nut Bread

(adapted from the recipe from The America’s Test Kitchen Family Cookbook*)

2 cups all purpose flour

3/4 cup sugar

3/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

3 VERY ripe bananas, mashed well (1 1/2 cups)

6 TBSP butter, melted and cooled

2 large eggs, lightly beaten

1/4 cup plain yogurt

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 1/4 cup walnuts or pecans

Directions

Preheat oven to 350°.  Liberally grease a 9 x 5 loaf pan with non-stick cooking spray.

Whisk the flour, sugar, baking soda, and salt together in a large bowl.  Set aside.  Whisk the mashed bananas, melted butter, eggs, yogurt, and vanilla together in a separate bowl.  Gently fold the banana mixture into the flour mixture with a rubber spatula until just combined.  Fold in the nuts.  Do not overmix; the batter will look thick and chunky.

Scrape the batter into the prepared pan and smooth the top.  Bake until golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out with just a few crumbs attached.  About an hour.

Let the loaf cool in the pan for 10 minutes before removing and placing on a wire rack.  Cool for one hour.

Notes: I use salted butter on a regular basis so I never add the salt to my baking recipes calling for butter.  I also didn’t add the last 1/4 cup of nuts.  I had exactly 1 cup of walnuts.  After all was said and done, I think 1 1/4 cups is way too much, but if you’re a nut fanatic then go for it.  I think 3/4 cup would be sufficient to keep a good balance between bread and nuts.  Finally…. I did NOT wait an hour for the bread to cool.  Are you kidding?!  I barely waited the 10 minutes to take it out of the loaf pan.  Waiting the hour for it to bake was torture enough.  The house smelled SO good!

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I, er… my family has.

*I will tell you all about this cookbook.  If you’ve never heard of it you NEED it.  It will be your new best friend.  I promise.

Peace, love and going bananas!!!!

2 thoughts on “Banana Nut Bread

Leave a Reply

