The Cookbook of Kings!!!!

Test Kitchen CookbookHave you heard of this cookbook?

If you haven’t you NEED to.  Five or six years ago my Aunt Lee Ann and Uncle John gave this to Grady and me for Christmas.  I will admit that I was a little overwhelmed by it when I got it.

It hung out in the cupboard for a little while.

Sometimes large cookbooks overwhelm me.

One afternoon I got a hankering for a homemade brownie recipe.  I pulled out a few of my cookbooks, including this one, and started searching.  Five minutes with this book and I was HOOKED!  This thing is like no other.

It’s not only a cookbook, it’s a full-fledged instruction manual for DUMMIES!!!  There’s a reason it’s called the “Test Kitchen Cookbook”.  The authors tested multiple methods of the creating the same dishes and got down to the SCIENCE of why their final version ended up being the best.  Even better…they don’t just tell you it’s the best way.  They tell you WHY it’s the best way.  Each recipe has a little blurb about what makes that particular method the tastiest.

I LOVE it!!!!  There hasn’t been a recipe I’ve tried, yet, that has let me down.  My all-time favorite of the book is the chocolate chip cookie recipe.  To.  Die.  For!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

….and for my health food fanatics, I just discovered a lower calorie/healthier version of some of their faves.  I haven’t tried any of those recipes yet, because, frankly, I just discovered this section a few weeks ago.

If you’re a lover of cookbooks and a lover of great recipes and are intrigued with the how and why of a recipe I really recommend picking this one up.  It was a MARVELOUS gift that I am sure will never leave my collection.

Peace, love and good finds!!!!

P.S. In writing this post I discovered that they have several different editions.  I think I’ll be adding to my collection.

3 thoughts on “The Cookbook of Kings!!!!

  1. I LOVE LOVE LOVE cookbooks–keep them for myself, give them for gifts–LOVE THEM!! Will have to get this one and “read” it!

Leave a Reply

