Poor Man’s Ceviche

ceviche copyI LOVE ceviche!  If I see it on a menu I HAVE to order it.  My passion for it runs deep.

I “like” canned tuna.  I keep telling myself I need to incorporate it into my diet more, but it’s hard.  It’s one of those things that I’m not CRAZY about and I feel uninspired to “dress up”.

Then….yesterday I found a recipe for Canned Tuna Ceviche, or Poor Man’s Ceviche, from one of my favorite skinny eating food bloggers, Gina at Skinnytaste.com.

I had EVERYTHING I needed for it.

It was MEANT to be!

I got home, whipped it up and could NOT believe how amazing this stuff was!!!!

Even Grady, who, isn’t on the same health food kick as I am, loved it!  He actually got upset with me because I limited him to only a few bites so I’d have enough for supper last night and for lunch today.

I’m 100% certain this will be something we make regularly.  The health benefits, GOOD fats, HIGH protein, BRIGHT flavors make this a dish that benefits everyone, even healthy eating skeptics.  Add to all of that business that it’s the PERFECT picnic food because there’s nothing in it to spoil and you have a WONDER DISH.

Gina, from Skinny Taste, must eat much smaller portions than I do.  In order to stay full I doubled her recipe and ate 2 of her portions.  Pick your jaw up…. it’s really not that much considering she was considering one portion to be half a can of tuna with all the fixings.  What you see on the plate above is MY portion.  It’s not big and all of that is only 354 calories, which is very reasonable for a light meal.

Here’s the skinny: Calories: 354, Fat: 15 grams, Carbohydrates: 12 g, Protein: 43 g, Fiber: 6 g, Sodium: 659 g.  I’m starting to add sodium to my skinny listings because it’s important.  Since it affects me so negatively I feel it necessary to include because I know there are so many of you that have the same problem.  This is the only drawback to this dish, anything from the ocean is going to be higher in sodium.  So, just be careful when seasoning this dish.

Go check out Gina’s recipe.  You won’t be sorry.  I promise.  And if you think you don’t like canned tuna I CHALLENGE you to try this dish.  You won’t even know you’re eating tuna.  ..and if you’re one of the many who detest cilantro, just leave it out.

Get your Cinco de Mayo on a little early this year!!!

 

Peace, love and ceviche grub!!!

Leave a Reply

