Peas and Pasta – Revamped!!!

Several years ago, in the beginning stages of my weight loss/lifestyle makeover adventure, I happened up a recipe that fit into my eating guidelines.  Simple.  Fast. Nutritious.  Low-calorie.

Peas and Pasta.

peas and pastaIt’s exactly what it says it is, whole wheat pasta with sauted frozen peas.  You know me, though.  I never leave a recipe alone.  I changed it up a bit adding shrimp and a few other veggies to give it more… oomph.  I love this dish.  It’s clean, hearty and flavorful.

Last night I was craving my old go-to, but I wasn’t in the mood for the “light” version as I would say.  I wanted something creamy and a little more decadent. I was making a killer cheesy layered noodle dish for the family that was sending my taste buds into overdrive.  I wanted something HEALTHY that would satisfy my hankering.

This was the result.

DSC_0003 copyCREAMY Peas and Pasta.

Although, can I, really, still call it Peas and Pasta?  It’s just so much more than that.

Creamy Peas and Pasta

4 oz. whole wheat thin spaghetti, cooked and drained

2 tsp. olive oil

2 cloves garlic, minced

1/3 cup red onion, diced

1/2 green bell pepper, diced

1 large carrot, diced

1 cup frozen peas

1 large tomato, diced

1/2 cup non-fat plain Greek yogurt

2 tbsp bacon bits

2 tbsp grated parmesan cheese

Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium to medium high heat.  Saute peppers and carrots for 5 minutes to start to soften.  Add onion and garlic.  Continue to saute until veggies are tender.  Be careful to stir regularly so the garlic doesn’t burn.  Add frozen peas and cook until heated through.  Once the peas begin to wilt add the tomato and saute until they release their juices, about 2-3 minutes.  Add the yogurt and bacon bits and combine to make a creamy sauce.  Toss in the cooked pasta until combined.  Stir in the parmesan cheese right before serving.

If your sauce seems just a little too thick add a few tablespoons of hot water to thin it out.

When I was creating this last night I wasn’t originally thinking of adding the bacon bits, but something seemed to be lacking.  The light bulb came on and adding the smoky, salty flavor of the bacon was the PERFECT touch!

Now, here’s the skinny.  Using Greek yogurt in the place of heavy cream or half and half really kept this recipe in the low-calorie category, right AT 400 calories per serving, not to mention adding PROTEIN.

If the carb content scares you, here’s a simple exchange.  Spaghetti squash!  In fact, had I not been pressed for time I would have made it this way to begin with.

 

Peace, love and HEALTHY indulgence!!!

Nutrition Facts
Servings 2.0
Amount Per Serving
Calories 401
% Daily Value *
Total Fat 4 g 7 %
Saturated Fat 2 g 8 %
Monounsaturated Fat 0 g
Polyunsaturated Fat 1 g
Trans Fat 0 g
Cholesterol 13 mg 4 %
Sodium 371 mg 15 %
Potassium 533 mg 15 %
Total Carbohydrate 69 g 23 %
Dietary Fiber 14 g 56 %
Sugars 15 g
Protein 24 g 49 %
Vitamin A 162 %
Vitamin C 79 %
Calcium 19 %
Iron 20 %
Leave a Reply

