Breakfast Potato Hash – Healthified!

Okay.  I’m going to go on a bit of a rant here.

There is a HUGE misconception that if you choose to eat healthy and light that it automatically means:

A. That it CERTAINLY isn’t going to taste good.

B. There’s NO WAY you’ll ever get full.

C. It takes WAY too long to prepare.

D. You have to eat WEIRD things.

and

E. It’s going to cost a small fortune.

I can’t tell you how many times I get these comments from people when I start telling them about my journey to a healthier life.  This couldn’t possibly be further from the truth.

I, recently, had a conversation with a co-worker on our way into the office about this.  He was drinking some funky green thing.  I’ll admit that it did NOT look good.  I’m not a fan of funky, chunky drinks for breakfast.  He admitted that it WASN’T very good.  His comment, “Anything GOOD for you doesn’t taste good!”  I retorted, “Oh, my friend you are SO wrong, so very, VERY wrong.”

Yes, you are going to have to adjust to things tasting “different” because you will eliminate the HEAVY fats that cover up the flavor of what we’re eating, but that certainly doesn’t mean they don’t taste GOOD.  Grady can attest to this fact.  Numerous times I’ve sent him to work with leftovers of some of my healthy dishes.  Inevitably, I’ll get a random text message from him asking “What’s the recipe for (insert here) dish?  “So and So”, wants the recipe!!”  These texts are a result of him sharing his food with someone at work who thought it was pretty darned tasty.  When he shares with them that it’s GOOD for them they’re usually in shock.

…and then there’s the misconception that if it LOOKS amazing and is healthy then it HAD to take WAY too long to prepare.

BIG SIGH.

I’ve said it before.  MOST of the things I make for myself take 15 to 20 minutes to prepare.  I get my food ready while what the family eats is either simmering or baking.  I make the most of my time.  This whole “time” thing is usually an excuse to not put forth the effort and is not due to a lack of said time.  I know, friends, because I was 100% GUILTY of that excuse for so many years.  If you WANT to be healthy and if you WANT to eat right and WANT to feel good you’ll make the time for it.  It’s there, I promise.

If you find yourself afraid of unfamiliar food territory, start where I did, with food you’re familiar with.  You don’t HAVE start with quinoa and lentils.  Those can certainly be adventures down the road.  Today’s recipe would be a PERFECT starting point.

Breakfast Potato Hash – Rethought.

DSC_0009 smallI had several left over baked potatoes in the fridge and wanted to do something different with them.  I was craving eggs for breakfast yesterday and had peppers and onions that needed used.

Observation.  Most hash uses entirely too much oil.

I’m finding that most folks think sauteing veggies/potatoes, or anything for that matter, requires a 1/4 inch of oil in the pan.  The same goes for frying eggs.  WRONG!  The idea of it just makes my stomach turn and my veins cringe.  I only used 1 teaspoon of olive oil for this whole meal.  ONE. TEASPOON.  The flavor doesn’t come from the oil.  It comes from the seasoning, vegetables and the beautiful yolk of the eggs.  Let’s quit covering up the flavor of our ingredients with butter and oil.  You’re truly missing out on so much goodness.

So, here it its.

Breakfast Potato Hash

1 medium potato, baked and diced

1/4 bell pepper, diced

1/3 cup red onion, diced

1 teaspoon olive oil

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

2 large eggs

salt and pepper, to taste

In a medium non-stick skillet, heat olive oil over medium heat.  Add peppers, and onions and saute for 2 minutes.  Add potatoes, garlic powder and salt and pepper.  Continue to saute until the potatoes are hot and begin to brown.  When these are done turn off the heat and leave in the hot skillet.  Heat another small skillet over medium heat and spray with non-stick cooking spray.  Gently crack each egg into the pan making sure not to break the yolk, unless you’re not a lover of eggs over easy.  When the white becomes firm enough, gently flip each egg keeping the yolk in tact.  I’m VERY picky about my over easy eggs. I do NOT like any runny white stuff.  You can gently touch around the yolk to make sure that the white surrounding it has firmed up and cooked through.

While your eggs are cooking place the potato hash mixture in a big pile on your plate.  Once the whites of your eggs are to your liking place those beauties on top of the taters.  Feel free to add salsa, hot sauce or a little cajun seasoning, if you’re so inclined.  Then DIG IN!!!

I will fully admit that I had an “idea” of the skinny on this dish before I started, but wasn’t quite sure until I plugged it into myfitnesspal.com.  I was truly, pleasantly surprised!

The Skinny: 290 calories, 25g carbs, 14g fat, 14g protein, 143mg sodium and 4g sugar.

This was SO hearty and so filling.  I ate it at 8:00 am and was still stuffed at 11:00.  It’s certainly enough to carry you through any morning routine and not leave you craving a snack mid-morning.  If the carbs scare you, cut it back to only half of the potato.  If you’re not a fan of over easy eggs, simply scramble your eggs into the potato mixture after the taters are golden.  Easy-peasy!

There you have it.  HEALTHY food DOES taste good, can be EASY, certainly AFFORDABLE and can be done in a matter of MINUTES! So, to my co-worker, who is a Doubting Thomas… EAT YOUR HEART OUT!!!!!

Peace, love and keepin’ it SIMPLE!!!!

Leave a Reply

