Black Bean Burgers

DSC_0012 copyI am just slightly in love with black beans.  I could WOULD eat them every day.  I’ve had to quit eating the canned variety because of the salt content.  Because of that, I’ve begun cooking them from scratch (the dried/bagged variety) in the crock pot and freezing them in 2 cup batches to have at my beck and call whenever I so choose.  So much better than the canned version, if I do say so myself.

Recently Pioneer Woman had an episode of her show dedicated to black beans.  I was intrigued, so I watched.  One of the dishes she made was a black bean burger.  I’d never had one, let alone made one.

In all honesty, I’ve never been curious about a vegetarian style burger.  I love BEEF.  There’s just something about a big juicy burger that I’ve always thought couldn’t be topped.  When I saw how easy it was to make these and knowing my LOVE for these little black pearls of goodness I knew I had to create my own version.  So, I took her basic concept, added a few of my own flavors, cut back on some fat and ran with it.

Black Bean Burger

2 cups black beans unsalted, drained (not rinsed)
4 slices wheat bread, dried and processed into crumbs
(or 1 cup wheat bread crumbs)
1 jalapeno seeded and minced
1/4 cup grated onion
1/2 cup shredded monterrey jack cheese
1 tsp. Tony Chachere’s cajun seasoning
1 egg
Freshly ground pepper

In a mixing bowl mash the beans with a fork. Stop when almost all the beans are completely mashed. You want a few pieces left whole. Add all remaining ingredients. Form into 4 large patties.  When I say large.

Heat a large skillet over medium heat. Generously spray with non-stick cooking spray. Place patties in pan and let brown on one side, 2 to 3 minutes. Flip and brown the other side. I had refrigerated my patties for about 30 minutes before I needed to cook them. Due to the egg and short period of time in the skillet I finished them off in a 350° oven for about 15 minutes until heated through thoroughly.

Serve on a bed of lettuce, topped with more grated cheese and diced tomato. If carbs aren’t a concern load that puppy up with mayo and a bun.  I topped mine with a tablespoon of light mayonnaise and a spoonful of a pepper relish that had been gifted to us.

I. LOVE. THIS. BURGER!!!!!!

I will definitely be making these over and over and over and over and over and….  You get the idea.  I really like these. They’re full of flavor, MOIST and so satisfying!!  I MIGHT even be so inclined as to put a beautiful over easy egg on top of one!!  GAH!!!!  YUM!

Can I have a drumroll????

Are you ready for this?

My beef eating, vegetarian-phobic husband APPROVED of these!!!!!  He really liked them and encouraged the kids to try it. (Pardon me while I take a moment to pat myself on the back.)

Ready for the skinny? I think you’ll be impressed, especially when you realize just how HUGE these are.  We’re talking the size of a 1/3 lb. hamburger patty.  GIGANTIC and SO filling!!!

The Skinny: 1 patty = 229 calories, 38g carbs, 3g fat, 12g protein, 2g sugars and 537mg sodium.

…I told you!!!!

(Note to self: You may want to invest in some Bean-o…  Just sayin’.)

 

 

Peace, love and accidentally vegetarian (for a day)!!!

One thought on “Black Bean Burgers

Leave a Reply

