Completely Made Up and Not-So-Authentic Texas Style Chili

I have another FOOTBALL party recipe to share.  Who doesn’t think chili and football go hand and hand?  Pretty much no one.

About a month ago we had some amazingly cool Fall-like weather on a Saturday and I was CRAVING chili.  We weren’t watching football, but it was the perfect day for it.

I’ve always wanted to try a Texas style chili, using roast or steak rather than ground beef.  On this particular day, I dug through our deep freeze and found a lovely arm roast.  I had no idea what I was doing, but I seized the moment, or rather the whole day.

As it thawed I devised a plan.

My plan was that I really had no plan at all.  I was going to wing it.  This was going to be MY creation, 100%.

…and that’s how Completely Made Up and No-So-Authentic Texas Style Chili came to be.

DSC_0027 copyGrady LOVED this!!!  His exact words were, “Make it EXACTLY like this every single time.  Don’t change a thing.”  While I was completely flattered I had to race to a note pad and write down exactly what I did.  I couldn’t afford to forget this one.

I will start by stating that this isn’t exactly on the low-calorie list of foods.  Don’t let that frighten you though.  It IS full of healthy things.  The roast I used WAS trimmed of all fat and on the rather lean side.  So, while the calories may be higher than the typical 300 calories per serving that I like to stay in, the 488 calories for a one cup serving is still completely acceptable.

My second statement of disclosure I feel I need to share with you prior to diving into the recipe is that this is an all day/all afternoon process.  It’s certainly not something that be whipped together after work.  I will say that it consists of two distinct steps.  The first can certainly be done the evening before and step two CAN be completed the next evening for supper.  …and just a little secret about this recipe.  It’s “kind of” a dual recipe.  Step one can be completed, frozen and used as the base for STEW rather than chili if you like!!!  I’ll go into that in a little bit.

Without further wait.

Completely Made Up and Not-So-Authentic Texas Style Chili

Step One Ingredients:
2 lbs. arm roast, fat trimmed and cubed
3 TBSP flour
1 1/2 TBSP chili powder
1 TBSP cumin
1/2 TBSP garlic powder
1/2 TBSP onion powder
1/2 TBSP dried oregano
1/2 large onion, diced
1 bell pepper, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 TBSP olive oil
1 1/2 teaspoon beef base
3 cups hot water

Step Two Ingredients:
2 cups tomato puree
2 cans stewed tomatoes, chopped
2 TBSP chili powder
1 TBSP cumin
1/2 TBSP garlic powder
1/2 TBSP onion powder
2 tsp onion salt
1 TBSP dried oregano
Fresh ground pepper
2 cups black beans
1 can chili beans

Step One:
Preheat oven to 275°. Add beef base to the hot water and set aside. Heat 1 TBSP olive oil in large dutch oven style pot. In a bowl mix flour, chili powder, cumin, garlic powder, onion powder, and dried oregano. In another medium bowl add cubed roast. Liberally coat the meat with half the flour mixture. Add the meat to the hot oil. Let the meat brown, untouched, for 3 minutes, or until it achieves golden color. Turn and brown additionally until all the pieces have reached a golden brown. The meat may not be completely cooked through, this is okay. Transfer to a plate and set aside. Repeat the above step with the remaining half of the meat. DO NOT remove or scrape the cooked on bits from the bottom of the pot. You want this there. Add the remaining tablespoon of oil and add the onions, peppers and garlic. Saute until onions are slightly translucent. After the veggies are softened add the beef base/water mixture to the pot. Gently scrape up the lovely bits of flavor from the bottom of the pot. Add the meat back to the pot and bring to a simmer. Once it simmers cover and put in the oven. Let it slow cook for 3 hours. Remove the lid for the last 30 minutes. Step one complete.

Step Two:
Remove the pot from the oven and return to the stove top over medium heat. Add tomato puree, stewed tomatoes, beans and all seasonings. Simmer for 1 to 1 1/2 hours. Half way through the process taste and adjust seasoning according to your liking. Don’t judge the flavor at the beginning as it WILL change as it simmers. Cover if you like soup-like chili. Simmer uncovered if you like your spoon to stand up in your chili. We prefer the latter.  Serve with grated cheese, sliced jalapenos, sour cream and crackers.  …or however YOU like to eat chili.  Just make sure you have a HUGE appetite.

The second time I made this I used t-bone steaks that we had.  I truly thought the steak version would be over the top and better than the roast version.  Surprisingly, I was wrong!  While I trimmed 95% of the fat off the steaks there was so much marbling throughout the meat that I had to skim a ridiculous amount of fat off the meat mixture after step one was completed.  The meat from the roast seemed much more tender and decadent than the steak.  I know.  I know, it seems it should be the other way around, but Grady said he even preferred the roast version.  So….roast it is.

Now, about that stew thing I mentioned earlier.  The flavors of the meat after step one are SO incredibly rich and deep, yet NOT distinctly chili-like yet, that you could easily add tomato puree, diced tomatoes, diced potatoes, peas, and carrots and cook down like step two of the chili recipe.

Ready for the skinny?  Don’t be too scared.  It’s weekend indulgence.  RIGHT!!

The skinny: 10, 1 cup servings. Calories: 488, Fat: 21g, Carbs: 40g, Sodium: 336mg, Fiber: 9g

Well… there you have it friends.  I hope you love this chili as much as we do!!!

 

Peace, love and chili feeds!

 

Leave a Reply

