I Think I Must Be Crazy!!!!!

candyI’ve decided to put myself on a sugar DETOX for the month of October.

“Why?”, you ask.

Well…

I’ve kind of, fallen off the wagon in the sweets department.  Sugar is truly, my drug.  I reach for it when I’m bored, sad, happy, hungry, ummmm…. pretty much any time.  It’s bad.  Really.  Really.  Bad.  While I do extremely well with low-calorie, low-fat, well balanced meals, I have a BIG problem with dessert and candy.  I need to get it reined in.

While I was in the biggest part of my weight loss battle, fighting the sugar seemed easier.  I KNEW it was the enemy.  I KNEW it was totally off limits.  I wouldn’t LOSE the weight if I didn’t abide by that rule.

Things change when you get to the maintenance phase of your healthier lifestyle.  You’re “allowed” to let a few things back in, but in small, moderate amounts.  Here’s the problem.  If those things that you’re allowing back in in small increments were the things that were detrimental to your whole healthy state of being in the first place then you probably shouldn’t really allow them back at all.

…and that’s where I’m at.  I know my sugar habit has a tendency to get out of control.  I need to quit the stuff all together for a while and relearn how to get the cravings under control.  I know I’ll feel better.

Now, I will say that I am NOT cutting out ALL sugar.  I WILL be eating plenty of fruits and vegetables.  They are crucial to my own digestive health.  I am NOT cutting out natural sugars.  I am eliminating the processed sugars.

So, why do I think I’m crazy?

Two reasons:

A.) For whatever INSANE reason, I thought it’d be a good idea to start this during the WORST time of the month for any woman.  My cravings are OFF the hook!

and

B.) Who in their right mind would start a sugar detox in the month of OCTOBER, when more candy is bought, given and consumed than we can fathom?!?!  Me, that’s who does that.  ME!

These two factors make me, legitimately, OFF MY ROCKER!  This will surely be a challenge.

This is day two.  This is SUCCESSFULLY day two!  It was a tough one.  I REALLY wanted something sweet this afternoon.  I opted for a cup of coffee instead.  (My second biggest weakness, but a “legal” one.)  It worked.  Craving satisfied.

I have called on several dear friends to hold me accountable and I know they will.  I’m relying on it.  I’m hoping to rely on all of you to hold me to it, too.  I’m going to keep you updated on my thirty-one days.  I’m hoping that all the updates will be good ones, but even if I fall I’m going to be honest.

Accountable.

Wish me luck!!

 

Peace, love and sugar FREE!!!

Leave a Reply

