Progress Report

I’m eight days into my sugar detox.

This has NOT been easy.  I have had MAD cravings for Sour Patch Kids, brownies, cookies and anything covered in frosting.  The weekend was, by far, the worst.  Boredom makes me want to reach for the candy jar or whatever baked treat we may have laying around.

I am happy to say that I WON!!!!  I resisted the temptation and am still on track.

Have I noticed any differences?

Yes.

I keep hearing about “puffiness” being directly related to not only sodium levels in our body, but also sugar intake.  One thing I was struggling with was a general “puffy” feeling in my midsection.  After eight full days I feel like this has definitely been reduced.  It’s not totally gone and I’m sure will take some time, but I HAVE noticed a difference.  My energy level has also increased.  I don’t have the mid-afternoon crashes that I was experiencing.  I can power through my day and not feel like I need a nap.

I do have a dilemma.  I have a wedding to attend this weekend and am debating on allowing myself the indulgence of wedding cake.  I talked with a good friend who I called on for my support through this. She supported me in either decision telling me that regardless of what I choose I need to decide BEFORE I get there.  (Good point!)  If I decide to stay strong and NOT partake in the cake that’s great, but if I want to have a treat that I should make the decision ahead of time and enjoy the piece guilt-free.  In her words, “you’re eating one piece, not the WHOLE cake”.  Very true.  I’m really leaning toward NOT indulging and powering through it.

My goal in this detox wasn’t just to rid myself of the puffy feeling I’ve been experiencing, but to whip this addiction in the Heineken!!!  I am not a person who likes the feeling of being helpless to an addiction.  I do NOT like feeling like I’m not in control of this.  With all of that in mind, if I can make it through a wedding without giving in to the temptation it would be such a HUGE accomplishment.  The only way to rid yourself of a habit or addiction is to NOT give in to it.

I think my answer is probably pretty clear, but I still have a few days to make it concrete.

I will say this.  As each day passes, it gets a little easier to say no.  Yesterday was a great example.  We had a food day for a co-worker’s birthday.  I didn’t eat a single cookie, bake goodie, piece of candy or Rice Krispie treat.  Not even a tiny taste.  …and the reality of it was that I didn’t have that hard of a time saying no.

It was a good day.

TODAY will be a good day!!!

…and tomorrow will be another.  I’m keeping positive thoughts!

 

 

Peace, love and sugar free!!!

2 thoughts on “Progress Report

  1. I’m on day 3 of no carbs/sugar. The only time I’m in trouble is in the evening…but I’m working through it and already feel better!

Leave a Reply

