Under A Rock?

First and foremost….

Please forgive me for my RIDICULOUS absence from this blog.

I have not been hiding under a rock, although there were days when that would have been a desirable place to be.  I didn’t go into hiding.  I didn’t come down with a bone stiffening ailment preventing me from typing my life and thoughts to you.

To put it simply… life just happened, as it does to most of us.  The past few months have been AMAZING months.  While I’m completely worn out and have had little time for the little things, I have been doing AWESOME stuff.

In September I partnered up with The Kansas Health Foundation to be a #SpokesMom.  A group of Kansas moms were asked to join together to promote healthy living and eating through our blogs, and social media sites for other parents in Kansas.  It’s been a really fun experience.

With that new adventure came a few realizations for myself.  I wasn’t holding myself accountable enough for what I was putting in my mouth and my physical activity.  If I was supposed to promote health and wellness I needed to be better about LIVING it!  I told you in the beginning of October that I was detoxing my body of processing sugars.  That was one of the hardest things to do.  I CONQUERED it!  For the entire month I only ate sugar 3 days of the 31.  Each of those were days I planned to allow myself the indulgence for whatever special occasion it was.

I got back on track with my food logging on myfitnesspal.com and started watching my salt intake much better.

…and I started my new addiction…

POWERWALKING!!!!

Powerwalk 2I started following this really inspirational and amazing gal on Instagram… Marta @hausofgirls_fitfamily.  She’s the one who inspired me to do the sugar detox.  She and her 3 sisters do 14 day sugar detoxes with anyone who wants to sign up.  While I didn’t sign up with them I took their advise and knew that I could do it on my own.  Marta also had a walk/run challenge in the month of October called #30milesinoctober.  The only prize for meeting the goal was your own self VICTORY and joy. I started it a little late in the month, but knocked out 43.75 in 21 days!!!!!

I felt AWESOME!!!  So, guess what?  When Marta set the #44milesinnovember challenge I took it head on!!!!  I started posting on Instagram and my personal Facebook page about my workouts to try to inspire others to join me.  It became my Kansas Health Foundation “thing”.

Powerwalk 1I tried extremely hard to not let ANYTHING become an excuse NOT to get out and move.  I went to my parent’s house for a weekend with my siblings and family.  I got up each morning and went for a 4 mile walk.  I kicked that hill’s tail two mornings in a row!!!  I’ll fully admit that it kicked mine in return.  I mean, my hind end and legs were SORE for a few days afterward.

When I’m not able to walk at home after work (which is quite often) I walk during my lunch hour.  Thirty minutes is all it takes to get a good workout/walk in.  I just pack a gym back with the appropriate clothes and shoes, deoderant and body spray.  It’s a REALLY great stress reliever in the middle of the day.  It’s amazing what those endorphins will do for the soul.

Powerwalk 3I REFUSED to let the cold temperatures be a reason NOT to exercise.  It was 22° with a 30 mph north wind on this particular day.  It stung.  I won’t lie, but it DROVE me to get my butt back home.

Powerwalk 5I even took on a bit of rain and the dark after a six hour round trip day in the car with my family.  I had been looking forward to my walk all day and the closer we got to home the colder the temps got and a steady light rain set in.  I was so close to talking myself out of it, but my heart had sunk.  I felt like I was really letting myself down by giving in to the rain.  I got in the house and my stubborn determination took over and I put my layers on and got after it.  The rain felt good on my face and the steady pitter-patter of the rain was soothing and rhythmic.  It was one of the best workouts I’ve had.  I felt AMAZING afterward.

In the midst of all of this I joined a Facebook group of local gals in a fitness/health/weight loss support group.  Each day is dedicated to a specific theme… Motivation Monday, Terrific Recipe Tuesday and so on.  We’re each supposed to post daily.  The group motivates and lifts each other up, giving advice and encouragement.  It’s been wonderful!  We each have awesome ideas and great motivation for each other.

The creator of the group posted a flier for our local Eggnog and Elf 5k Run happening during our community’s annual Country Christmas celebration, which was last Saturday.   I had never done ANYTHING like that.  I mean…. I ran track competitively in the EIGHTH grade…a million years ago.  But, that was as far as my competitive streak went.  I decided I was going to do this thing.  Why not?  I could powerwalk it.  I didn’t HAVE to run.  Right?  Right.

I will admit that there were several times, as the date drew near, that I had myself talked out of doing it.  It was REALLY outside of my comfort zone.  I’m pretty good at chickening out on things that I’m not exactly comfortable with.  I was REALLY close to calling it off the morning of…  I wasn’t feeling 100% that morning.  I’ve been working pretty hard at getting a cold for about a week now and that morning I could really feel it.

…but I got myself dressed and told myself that there was NO WAY I was going to let myself down or the girls who I had told I would attend.  I HAD to do it.

Powerwalk 7I DID IT, Elf socks and hat to boot!!!!!!!  I powerwalked the whole thing.  …and I wasn’t even the last one in.  I beat several of the walker/joggers!!!!  At the beginning of the race when I was “walking” one of the volunteers teased me that he could keep up with me since I was walking.  I just smiled…  Then he was at the halfway checkpoint.  He laughed and said, “I take that back.  There’s NO WAY I could keep up with you.  You walk way too fast!”  I just smiled, raised my eyebrow at him and waved as I huffed and puffed past him.

I was really proud of my accomplishment.  I hope it’s just the beginning of a lot more races/challenges.

I’m REALLY happy to report that I ended the #44milesinovember challenge with 25 total workouts and 64.59 miles!!!!

The best part of all of this is that the hard work has paid off!!!  I’ve trimmed back down.  The cottage cheese that was creeping back onto my legs is diminishing.  My waist is back in the range I like it to be and I just feel GOOD!!!!

I was hoping Marta would post another walk challenge for December, but I haven’t seen it yet.  Soooo….what do I do about it?  I make up my own.

How about #55milesindecember?  I think that sounds good.  What better way to battle the holiday bulge than BEFORE it attacks you?!  Will you join me?  Please?

Follow me on Instagram @alishagibb to see how I’m doing.

So, there you have it.  I really didn’t disappear.  I’ve just been focused on a few other things.  I’m hoping that I can fit this back into the craziness.  I really do love all of my readers and I know I’ve let you down.  Please forgive me.  It’s been all for good.

 

Peace, love and POWERwalks!!!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Under A Rock?

Leave a Reply

